Milestones of Kolkata

There is a series of various milestones in the history of Kolkata city which makes the city what it is today. Listed below are some important years in the history of Kolkata:

Job Charnok settles in Calcutta 1690

Sutanuti, Kolikata & Gobindapur bought 1698

City Corporation established 1727

Siraj-ud-daulla captured Calcutta 1756

First currency bill printed 1757

Clive took Bengal, Bihar & Orissa 1765

Calcutta became the capital of India 1772

"The Calcutta Gazzette" published 1784

Asiatic Society established 1784

Raj Bhawan built 1804

The Town Hall built 1813

Hindu College established 1817

Sahid Minar was built 1828

University of Calcutta established 1857

First Tram car in Calcutta 1873

"The Statesman", started 1875

Indian Museum built 1875

SN Banerjee called National convention 1883

First motor car 1896

Capital shifted from Calcutta to Delhi 1911

Mohun Bagan won IFA shield final 1911

RN Tagore received Nobel Prize 1913

Victoria Memorial building inaugrated 1921

Chittaranjan Das became first Indian mayor 1924

Mother Teressa came to Calcutta 1929

Famine hit undivided Bengal 1943

Calcutta became the state capital 1947

Naxalite Movement 1970-71

First TV transmission started 1975

CPI (M) came into power 1977

First underground railway started 1984

Satyajit Roy received Oscar & "Bharat Ratna" 1992

Calcutta renamed as 'Kolkata' 2001

Also Read: 10-Most-Popular-Durga-Puja-Pandals-of-Kolkata, 5-Must-Buy-Items-in-Kolkata, About-Kolkata, Adventure-Sports-in-Kolkata, Arts-and-Crafts-in-Kolkata, Avani-Riverside-Mall, Bars-in-Kolkata, Auditoriums-in-Kolkata, Bars-in-Kolkata, Belur-Math-in-Kolkata, City-Center-Kolkata, Festivals-and-Fairs-in-Kolkata, Doctors-in-Kolkata, Durga-Puja-in-Kolkata, Geography-of-Kolkata, Bengali-Restaurants-in-Kolkata, Haunted-Places-in-Kolkata

    Free Listing